_Main_EN

Kaiser Maximilian I.

MAXIMILIAN I AND THE RISE OF THE MODERN WORLD
SPECIAL EXHIBITION IN THE IMPERIAL PALACE INNSBRUCK
FROM 25 MAY UNTIL 12 OCTOBER 2019

Emperor Maximilian I counts as one of the most famous members of the House of Habsburg. His matrimonial policy laid the foundations for the later ascent of the House to the most powerful dynasty in Europe. Fickle fortunes of war were to shape his life as well as the latest technological innovations of the time, which he made perfect use of.

The date of 12 January 2019 marks the 500th anniversary of his death. To commemorate this occasion, Burghauptmannschaft Österreich is organising an exhibition from May 25 to October 12, 2019. Cutting edge multi-media technology will be used not only to present the personality of Emperor Maximilian I, his wives, the life at court, and the events that left a deep impression on him, but also to point out issues of European and global relevance: For instance, the European expeditions to the West and Siegmund von Herberstein’s journeys to the East on behalf of the Emperor will be dealt with in this regard. Latest research findings on the architectural history, the political, the religious and the economic context will round off the exhibition.

The exhibition will be held until October 2019; then, it will become a permanent one – with the rooms being converted into a “living museum”. By dedicating every year to another special topic and different features, the Emperor’s memory will be kept alive – just as intended by “Gedechtnus”.

Play Video

500 years after Maximilian – The rise of the Modern World

News

Kaiser Maximilian I. Verlobtes Paar
MAXIMILIAN & MARIA OF BURGUNDY AS A BETROTHED COUPLE
Artist unknown, 1560/90, Albertina, Graphic Art Collection, Vienna, Inv. No. 24425
Kaiser Maximilian I. - MARGARETE VON ÖSTERREICH
MARGARET OF AUSTRIA
Jean Hey, Gen. Mester V. Moulins, 1490, Metropolitan Museum, New York
KAISER MAXIMILIAN I. ALS ORDENSRITTER
MAXIMILIAN I, DRESSED AS A KNIGHT OF THE ORDER
Statutes of the Order of the Golden Fleece, around 1519/20, Austrian National Library, Vienna, Cod. 2606, fol. 76v-77r
Kaiser Maximilian I. WAPPENTURM DER INNSBRUCKER HOFBURG
COAT-OF-ARMS TOWER
Artist unknown, 1768, Imperial Palace Innsbruck
Prunkharnisch Kaiser Maximilian I.
CEREMONIAL ARMOUR OF MAXIMILIAN I.
Lorenz Helmschmid, Augsburg around 1480, KHM; Imperial Armoury, Vienna, Inv. No. A 62
Kaiser Maximilian I. SCHWAZER BERGBUCH: STADTANSICHT VON INNSBRUCK
SCHWAZE MINING BOOK: VIEW OF THE CITY OF INNSBRUCK
1556, Tyrolean State Museum, Dip. 856, Tafel 15
Kaiser Maximilian I. KÖNIG v. GULZIN
“KING OF COCHIN”
B. Springer, Merfahrt, 1509, Kol. Woodcut by Hans Burgkmair, BSB, rAR 470, p. 7
Kaiser Maximilian I. GOLDENE SCHREIBSTUBE VON JAKOB FUGGER DEM REICHEN
GOLDEN OFFICE OF JAKOB FUGGER THE RICH
Artist unknown, Augsburg around 1517, Herzog Anton-Ulrich Museum, Braunschweig, h-27-067a-28
Kaiser Maximilian I. RATIFIKATION MATTHÄUS LANG UND PAPST
RATIFICATION, MATTHAEUS LANG AND THE POPE
A.A., Arm.I-XVIII, 3223 r, Vatican Secret Archives
Kaiser Maximilian I. MINIATUR TRIUMPHZUG, AHNEN UND VORFAHREN
MINIATURE OF TRIUMPHAL PROCESSION, ANCESTORS AND FOREBEARS
Albrecht Altdorfer, courtesy of J. Kölderer 1512-16, miniature paintings on parchment, Graphic Art Collection Albertina, Inv. No. 25236

FRAMEWORK PROGRAMME

The exhibition “Maximilian 1 and the Rise of the Modern World” will be organised along with a rich framework programme from 25 May until 12 October 2019. Besides daily exhibition tours, there will be special ones featuring a number of topics. Furthermore, the curator will offer tours as well, where they give exclusive insights into the exhibition. They will be held every first Sunday of the month or by prior appointment. Academic lectures and a special programme for kids comprising workshops and a summer programme will complete the framework programme.

25.05. –
12.10.2019

10:00 – 16:00 Uhr


KINDERFÜHRUNG „KAISER MAX I., STATIONEN SEINES LEBENS.“

25.05. –
12.10.2019

10:00 – 16:00 Uhr


KINDERFÜHRUNG
„KAISER MAX I.,
STATIONEN SEINES
LEBENS.

Tickets

Go ahead and pre-order your ticket now!
You can buy your exhibition ticket in our online shop or directly at the ticketing area of the Imperial Palace Innsbruck!

Preise

Erwachsener€ 15,-
Kinder bis 2008€ 5,-
Kinder bis 2015frei
Senioren€ 10,-
  
Audio Guides€ 3,-


Preise gelten pro Person bzw. pro Stück und enthalten 20% Mehrwertsteuer.

Hofburg Innsbruck

IMPERIAL PALACE INNSBRUCK

Archduke Sigmund, who was given the epithet “the Rich in Coin”, had a medieval castle erected on the premises of the Imperial Palace Innsbruck during his regency (1446 – 1490) after choosing Innsbruck as his main residence. The castle was modified and expanded by his successor, Emperor Maximilian I. The latter added the Coat-of-Arms or Crest Tower (Wappenturm), the “Women’s Quarters” (Frauenzimmer), the festive Golden Hall, Paradeis Garden, his own apartments, and an armoury (Harnaschhaus, which today houses a convent and a restaurant). They constitute the Imperial Palace Innsbruck complex, which is located in the inner city. From 1750 to 1770, Empress Maria Theresa arranged for the Imperial Palace to be rebuilt in the Viennese late Baroque style. In the 19th century, the Inner Apartments were refurnished for Empress Elisabeth.

The Imperial Palace Innsbruck, now property of the Federal Republic of Austria, is managed by Burghauptmannschaft Österreich. Major refurbishing was carried out from 2006 to 2010, when the large façades facing Hofgasse Street, the Cathedral Square and Rennweg Street were restored to their elaborate historic design.

Team

The project team organising the exhibition “Maximilian 1 and the Rise of the Modern World” consists of the following members:

M. Wimmer Burghauptmannschaft

Hofrat Mag. Markus Wimmer
Project Manager

Born in 1969, Markus Wimmer studied Economics at the University of Linz. Subsequently, he worked eight years for the Ministry of Economy of the Federal Republic of Austria. He has been deputy head of Burghauptmannschaft Österreich since 2006. As such, he oversees all construction matters, in particular matters with regard to the imperial palaces in Vienna and Innsbruck. Furthermore, he is responsible for the entire accounting of Burghauptmannschaft Österreich.

markus.wimmer@maximilian1.at

C. Gepp Burghauptmannschaft

Christian Gepp, B.A., M.A.
Assistant Project Manager

Born in 1984 in Vienna, he studied Physics, History, and Economic and Social History at the University of Vienna. Christian Gepp, who writes his doctoral thesis at the Institute of Economic and Social History of the University of Vienna, has worked as a teacher at numerous universities. He joined Burghauptmannschaft Österreich in 2017.

christian.gepp@maximilian1.at

Dr. M. Frenzel

Dr. Monika Frenzel
Curator

Monika Frenzel studied Art History and Medieval History at the University of Innsbruck. Being a certified Austria Guide she founded a culture association in 1993 and became a teacher for Art History in Tyrol. Having curated a plethora of exhibitions, worked as an author and organised historic events, she is very well-known to a wide public audience.

monika.frenzel@maximilian1.at

S. Heim Burghauptmannschaft

Stefanie Heim, BA MA
Assistant Curator

Born in 1991 in Brexlegg, Stefanie Heim studied Archeology and History at the University of Innsbruck. She currently writes her doctoral thesis in the field of “Medieval and Modern Archeology – the Archeology of the Napoleonic Wars in Tyrol” (since 2016).

stefanie.heim@maximilian1.at

G. Veigel Burghauptmannschaft

Gerhard Veigel
Exhibition Architect

Gerhard Veigel has worked as a designer and planner for art exhibitions at Artex Art Services since 1995. In the year 2012, he opened a studio of his own, specialising in museums and exhibition services. As such, he has contributed to the design, planning and implementation of a wide array of exhibition projects in Austria and abroad.

M. Corrine

Manfred R. Corrine
Art-Director

Born in 1963 in Vienna, Manfred R. Corrine studied Theater Studies and Journalism at the University of Vienna. Subsequently, he was trained in the film craft and founded the company mrc-film in 1998. He is an internationally recognisd author and film-maker of documentaries for diverse channels of television broadcasting, such as ORF, ServusTV, ZDF, WDR, NDR, Arte, BBC, Smithonian Channel and Discovery Channel.

Contact

Burghauptmannschaft Österreich

Hofburg Innsbruck
Rennweg 1
6020 Innsbruck
Austria

T +43 (0)512 587 186 – 19
office@maximilian1.at

Opening hours:
Monday to Sunday, 09:00 a.m. to 05:00 p.m.,
Wednesday until 07:00 p.m.

Schematische Karte zur Hofburg Innsbruck

How to get there

From the central station, take one of the following bus lines: B (get off at “Hofburg/Congress“), M (get off at “Museumstraße”), or The Sightseer (get off at “Hofburg/Congress”). The following stops are close by: “Museumstraße”, “Hofburg/Congress”, or “Marktplatz”)

For more information, go to: www.ivb.at

The Imperial Palace Innsbruck lies within walking distance of the inner city:
From the central station: approximately 15 minutes
From the Golden Roof: approximately 3 minutes

There are public car parks near the Imperial Palace Innsbruck, however they charge fees. We may recommend: Altstadt-Garage, Kaiserjäger Parkgarage, Sparkassen-Hörtnagl-Garage, or Congress-Garage.

For more parking options go to: www.innsbruckmarketing.at

The Imperial Palace Innsbruck is situated directly in Innsbruck’s old town. Hofgasse Street leads to the main entrance and ticketing area, which are opposite Café Sacher. Coming from Rennweg Street, you may use the large courtyard to get there.

N 46° 50,705´
EO 12° 46,324´

_Main

Kaiser Maximilian I.

MAXIMILIAN I. – AUFBRUCH IN DIE NEUZEIT
SONDERAUSSTELLUNG IN DER HOFBURG INNSBRUCK
VOM 25.05. – 12.10.2019

Kaiser Maximilian I. zählt zu den bekanntesten Persönlichkeiten des Hauses Habsburg. Mit einer erfolgreichen Heiratspolitik legte er den Grundstein für den Aufstieg seiner Familie zur mächtigsten Dynastie Europas. Wankelmütiges Kriegsglück prägte sein Leben ebenso, wie neueste technologische Errungenschaften, die er geschickt zu nutzen wusste.

Am 12. Jänner 2019 jährt sich sein Todestag zum 500. Mal. Aus diesem Anlass widmet die Burghauptmannschaft Österreich vom 25. Mai bis 12. Oktober 2019 diesem Kaiser in der Hofburg Innsbruck eine Ausstellung. Diese thematisiert, unter Verwendung modernster multimedialer Technik, nicht nur die Persönlichkeit Kaisers Maximilian I. (1459-1519), seine Ehefrauen, das Hofleben, und Einflüsse die sein Leben prägten, sondern greift auch bewusst Themen mit europäischer oder globaler Dimension auf. Die europäischen Expeditionen nach Westen werden ebenso behandelt, wie die im kaiserlichen Auftrag erfolgten Reisen Siegmunds von Herberstein nach Osten. Neueste Ergebnisse aus der Erforschung der Baugeschichte der Hofburg Innsbruck, der Klimageschichte und die Kontextualisierung von Politik, Religion und Wirtschaft runden die Ausstellungsinhalte ab.

Die Ausstellung wird nach ihrem Abschluss im Oktober 2019 in eine Dauerausstellung übergeführt und die Räumlichkeiten als „living museum“ eingerichtet. Jährlich wechselnde Themenschwerpunkte und Sonderausstellungen sorgen dafür, dass auch nach dem Maximilianjahr eine bleibende „Gedechtnus“ aufrechterhalten wird.

Video abspielen
Video abspielen

500 JAHRE MAXIMILIAN - AUFBRUCH IN DIE NEUZEUT

News

News 2

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et...
Lesen Sie weiter

News 3

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et...
Lesen Sie weiter

Kinderführung

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Aenean commodo ligula eget dolor. Aenean massa. Cum sociis natoque penatibus et...
Lesen Sie weiter
Kaiser Maximilian I. Verlobtes Paar
MAXIMILIAN & MARIA V. BURGUND ALS VERLOBTES PAAR
Unbekannter Künstler, 1560/90, Albertina, Grafische Sammlungen, Wien, Inv.-Nr. 24425
Kaiser Maximilian I. - MARGARETE VON ÖSTERREICH
MARGARETE VON ÖSTERREICH
Jean Hey, Gen. Mester V. Moulins, 1490, Metropolitan Museum, New York
MAXIMILIAN I. ALS ORDENSRITTER
MAXIMILIAN I. ALS ORDENSRITTER
Statutenbuch des Ordens vom Goldenen Vlies, um 1519/20, ÖNB, Wien, Cod. 2606, fol. 76v-77r
Kaiser Maximilian I. WAPPENTURM DER INNSBRUCKER HOFBURG
WAPPENTURM
Anonymer Maler, 1768, Hofburg Innsbruck
Prunkharnisch Kaiser Maximilian I.
PRUNKHARNISCH MAXIMILIAN I.
Lorenz Helmschmid, Augsburg um 1480, KHM; Hof- Jagd- und Rüstkammer, Wien, Inv.-Nr. A 62
Kaiser Maximilian I. SCHWAZER BERGBUCH: STADTANSICHT VON INNSBRUCK
SCHWAZER BERGBUCH: STADTANSICHT VON INNSBRUCK
1556, Tiroler Landesmuseum, Dip. 856, Tafel 15
Kaiser Maximilian I. KÖNIG v. GULZIN
„KÖNIG v. GULZIN“
B. Springer, Merfahrt, 1509, Kol. Holzschnitte von Hans Burgkmair, BSB, rAR 470, S. 7
Kaiser Maximilian I. GOLDENE SCHREIBSTUBE VON JAKOB FUGGER DEM REICHEN
GOLDENE SCHREIBSTUBE VON JAKOB FUGGER DEM REICHEN
Anonym, Augsburg um 1517, Herzog Anton-Ulrich Museum, Braunschweig, h-27-067a-28
Kaiser Maximilian I. RATIFIKATION MATTHÄUS LANG UND PAPST
RATIFIKATION MATTHÄUS LANG UND PAPST
A.A., Arm.I-XVIII, 3223 r, Vatikan, Geheimarchiv
Kaiser Maximilian I. MINIATUR TRIUMPHZUG, AHNEN UND VORFAHREN
MINIATUR- TRIUMPHZUG, AHNEN UND VORFAHREN
Albrecht Altdorfer, übermittelt von J. Kölderer 1512-16, Miniaturen auf Pergament, Grafische Sammlung Albertina, Inv.-Nr. 25236

Termine

Begleitend zur Ausstellung „Maximilian I., Aufbruch in die Neuzeit“ ist vom 25. Mai bis 12. Oktober 2019 ein umfangreiches und vielfältiges Rahmenprogramm vorgesehen. Neben mehrmals täglich stattfindenden Führungen durch die Ausstellung, werden auch Führungen zu ausgewählten Themenschwerpunkten angeboten. Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit einer Kuratorenführung, bei der die Kuratoren der Ausstellung exklusive Einblicke gewähren. Diese werden an jedem 1. Sonntag im Monat sowie nach Voranmeldung stattfinden. Wissenschaftliche Vorträge sowie ein eigenes Kinderprogramm bestehend aus Workshops und einem speziellen Angebot während der Sommerferien werden das Rahmenprogramm ergänzen.

Nähere Details dazu sind ab Jänner 2019 an dieser Stelle verfügbar.

25.05. –
12.10.2019

10:00 – 16:00 Uhr


KINDERFÜHRUNG „KAISER MAX I., STATIONEN SEINES LEBENS.“

25.05. –
12.10.2019

10:00 – 16:00 Uhr


KINDERFÜHRUNG
„KAISER MAX I.,
STATIONEN SEINES
LEBENS.

Tickets

Sichern Sie sich bereits jetzt Ihr Ticket!
Sie können über den online Ticketshop Ihre Eintrittskarte zur Ausstellung erhalten oder diese vor Ort an der Kassa der Hofburg Innsbruck erwerben.

Preise

Erwachsener€ 15,-
Kinder bis 2008€ 5,-
Kinder bis 2015frei
Senioren€ 10,-
  
Audio Guides€ 3,-


Preise gelten pro Person bzw. pro Stück und enthalten 20% Mehrwertsteuer.

Hofburg Innsbruck

Hofburg Innsbruck

Erzherzog Sigmund der Münzreiche ließ auf dem Areal der heutigen Kaiserlichen Hofburg zu Innsbruck während seiner Regentschaft (1446-1490) eine mittelalterliche Burg errichten. Diese wurde unter seinem Nachfolger Kaiser Maximilian I. um- und ausgebaut. Kaiser Maximilian I. ließ den Wappenturm, das „Frauenzimmer“, den Festsaal (Goldener Saal), das Paradeis sowie sein eigenes Appartement und das Harnaschhaus errichten, die heute den innerstädtischen Gebäudekomplex Hofburg Innsbruck ausmachen. Maria Theresia ließ die Hofburg Innsbruck zwischen 1750-1770 in eine spätbarocke Anlage umgestalten, ehe die Inneren Appartements im 19. Jahrhundert für Kaiserin Elisabeth neu eingerichtet wurden.

Die Hofburg Innsbruck befindet sich heute im Eigentum der Republik Österreich und wird von der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich verwaltet. Eine großangelegte Generalsanierung des Gebäudekomplexes erfolgte in den Jahren 2006 bis 2010. Seither wurden die großen Fassaden in der Hofgasse, am Domplatz und am Rennweg nach historischem Vorbild aufwändig restauriert.

Über uns

Das Projektteam für die Organisation der Ausstellung „Maximilian 1 – Aufbruch in die Neuzeit“ setzt sich aus folgenden Personen zusammen:

Hofrat Mag. Markus Wimmer
Projektleitung

Geboren 1969 in Linz, studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Linz. Danach achtjährige Tätigkeit im Wirtschaftsministerium und seit 2006 stellvertretender Burghauptmann. Zuständig für bauliche Agenden u.a. der Hofburg Wien und Hofburg Innsbruck sowie für das Rechenwesen der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich.

markus.wimmer@maximilian1.at

Christian Gepp, B.A., M.A.
Assistenz der Projektleitung

Geboren 1984 in Wien, studierte Physik sowie Geschichte und Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte an der Universität Wien. Dissertant am Institut für Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte, Lehrbeauftragter an verschiedenen Universitäten. Seit 2017 Mitarbeiter der Burghauptmannschaft Österreich.

christian.gepp@maximilian1.at

Dr. Monika Frenzel
Kuratorin

Studierte Kunstgeschichte und Mittelalterliche Geschichte an der Universität Innsbruck. Als diplomierter Austria Guide gründete sie 1993 einen Kulturverein und übernahm einen Lehrauftrag über die Kunstgeschichte Tirols. Als Kuratorin von Ausstellungen, Autorin und Organisatorin von Historischen Events ist sie einem breiten Publikum bekannt.

monika.frenzel@maximilian1.at

Stefanie Heim, BA MA
Assistenz der Kuratorin

Geboren 1991 in Brixlegg, studiert Archäologie und Geschichte an der Universität Innsbruck. Seit 2016 Doktoratsstudium mit dem Dissertationsgebiet: Mittelalter- und Neuzeitarchäologie, die Archäologie der napoleonischen Kriege in Tirol.

stefanie.heim@maximilian1.at

Gerhard Veigel
Ausstellungsarchitekt

Seit 1995 Tätigkeit als Gestalter und Planer von Kunstausstellungen bei Artex Art Services. 2012 Eröffnung des eigenen Ateliers für Museums- und Ausstellungsservice, verantwortlich für Planung, Entwicklung und Umsetzung von zahlreichen Ausstellungsprojekten im In- und Ausland.

Manfred R. Corrine
Art-Director

Geboren 1963 in Wien, absolvierte das Studium Theaterwissenschaft und Publizistik an der Universität Wien. Nach dem Studium Erlernen des Filmhandwerks und 1998 Gründung der mrc-film. International ausgezeichneter Autor und Regisseur von TV-Dokus für ORF, ServusTV, ZDF, WDR, NDR, Arte, BBC, Smithonian Channel und Discovery Channel.

Kontakt

Burghauptmannschaft Österreich

Hofburg Innsbruck
Rennweg 1
6020 Innsbruck
Austria

T +43 (0)512 587 186 – 19
office@maximilian1.at

Öffnungszeiten:
Mo-So, 09:00 bis 17:00 Uhr,
Mittwoch bis 19:00 Uhr

Schematische Karte zur Hofburg Innsbruck

Anfahrt

Vom Hauptbahnhof mit den Buslinien B (Ausstiegsstelle Hofburg/Congress), M (Ausstiegsstelle Museumstraße) und The Sightseer (Ausstiegsstelle Hofburg/Congress). Haltestellen in Hofburg-Nähe: Museumstraße, Hofburg/Congress, Marktplatz

Nähere Infos unter: www.ivb.at

Die Hofburg ist von der Innenstadt aus fußläufig erreichbar.
Ca. 15 min vom Hauptbahnhof, 3 min vom Goldenen Dachl.

Öffentliche, kostenpflichtige Parkmöglichkeiten finden Sie in direkter Nähe zur Hofburg. Folgende sind zu empfehlen: Altstadt-Garage, Kaiserjäger Parkgarage, Sparkassen-Hörtnagl-Garage und Congress-Garage.

Weitere Parkmöglichkeiten finden Sie unter: www.innsbruckmarketing.at

Die Kaiserliche Hofburg hat ihren Standort in der Innsbrucker Altstadt. Der Haupteingang mit Kassabereich befindet sich an der Hofgasse gegenüber vom Café Sacher. Vom Rennweg aus kann dieser über den großen Burghof erreicht werden.

N 46° 50,705´
EO 12° 46,324´